Sixteen

It’s been sixteen years since the tears,

Sixteen years since the pain.

Toni’s constant plea to Unbreak Her Heart

As I pledged never to Breathe Again.

The concoction should have been strong enough;

Doctors said it was definitely tough enough,

And for a few seconds, it was fade to black,

But a few seconds later, He sent me back.

What an incredible pinnacle!

Considered a miracle

All because I was played for the ultimate fool

When he smiled and told me, “April’s Fools”-

Wanted confirmation he did the ultimate crime

Sharing intimate whispers and his thickness

With a woman who wasn’t my slickness

And just because I didn’t see it with my own two eyes

I kept on believing his lies,

But broad daylight crushed all his alibis!

The rocking back and forth of the grey Slow Roller

As everyone’s angry emotions took over,

Except for mine, light switch got cut to off,

Not knowing in the later hours I’d get set off!

But people wonder why I bring this up-

This constant April shower

It’s simply because each year,

It keeps giving me power:

A constant reminder that each day is a blessing;

A constant lesson that no man is worth stressing,

Not to where ending it all is the only way;

I never would have gotten to where I am today

Or encountered such wonderful people

And met such wonderful souls.

I would have never known what was in store for me

Had I been successful and gotten buried six feet deep.

©ª

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with:
Posted in national poetry month 2013

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

