Frayed

This Hope was once some thick chunky yarn.

Now it’s deteriorated into some cheap Dollar Store thread.

I pray for sunset to quiet the uneasiness in my heart

But sunrise meets me with a new sense of dread

Whoever said Love was enough

Believes too much in fairy tales.

The euphoria of the honeymoon phase

Has long ago decided to set sail.

Now I lie here, staring at my lover

who’s slowly become a stranger in my bed,

second guessing all the certain things:

Was temporary insanity plaguing my head?

Then I look up towards the cloudy sky;

Sadness hosting its’ own highlight reel,

reciting the same prayer every day-

that somehow this fractured bond will heal.

©ª

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with:
Posted in national poetry month 2013

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

