Toxic

Thought you were the kind
that made prune juice
taste like fine wine,
so I invited you
to snuggle closer to my spirit,
kicking out my favorite teddy bear
(who didn’t feel it was fair).

Thought the quick beating of my heart
was excitement over
your being in my life,
didn’t think it was because
something was not quite right.

Thought my blood was boiling
because of the yearning I had for you,
but I had no clue
until I came home a little early
to find you glued
against some young dude’s backside.

… and then it all made sense

The headaches,
The dizziness,
The impromptu tears,
The haunting of fears.

And the bright light
that once shone
with love for you
became the very acid
that ate away
at every capillary
until the person I once was
became toxic.

 ©

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with:
Posted in national poetry month 2013

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

