Alarm

Some days
I never want the alarm to ring
Because on those days,
I just want to stay still-
Still enough to close my eyes,
Still enough to float
Until I can touch the corner of my dreams
And hold it securely in my arms.
Yet I sense a great disturbance
Threatening our loving bond,
Blinded by naysayers and my own critical voice
Causing my dreams to become spooked
And soar higher and higher.
I surge to catch up with the harried pace,
But the distance is just too great.
My legs begin to burn in pain;
My eyes water from being in so much hurt.
Feeling resigned, I am thrown back
Just in time to hear my alarm’s blare.
I shut it off, declaring I’m awake.
©ª

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in national poetry month 2013, Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

