Letting Go of the False

Disclaimer:  This is no means an attack on Christianity. 

I tried the best I could
to be a good friend to you
even when you didn’t always treat me
as respectfully as you should.
You see, the name of the game
is to agree to disagree,
but I see that each and every time,
you bent the rules to suit your needs.

Everything you did was always right.
Everything you did was always fair.
You were the perfect specimen:
The ultimate Christian
The ultimate righteous sheep.

Yet what about that time back in October
when you were with your girl,
sinfully dancing with her via your tongue
tasting of her tangy juices?

What about that moment
when you were thrusting inside her?
Were you thinking of the torment
of your inner soul?

But, oh, you have selective amnesia!
You remember the sins of others
but not your own.

But despite your contradictory ways,
I still tried to be there for you
because I thought that what all Christians do.

I never professed to be perfect,
but I don’t stand and be a judge,
condemning others for their acts,
for I don’t do that kind of work for God.

Yet you try to take on too much–
turning up the corner of your lip
in a sinister sneer
as I tell you stuff in my life
because you said you were my friend,
no matter what,
through triumph and tribulation,
but you proved me wrong.

Because the moment my news
brushed against your inner ears,
your “unconditional” heart
flowed with “conditional” words
and “nonconstructive” criticism
cause I don’t fit your ideal mode;
I don’t fit on your plans of design.

And I refuse to participate
in the mockery of a friendship,
so one sided–the “Holy” vs. the “Sinner”.
So instead of trying to plead my case,
I will just admit that I am guilty,
but instead of going to your sinister cell,
I’m going to be free of your judgmental Hell.

And no, love, I’m not bitter,
But I have to do what’s best for me,
and I know this may shock your mind and ears,
but the best is ridding myself of you.

©
2000

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

