My Voice

Don’t cry for me!
Don’t say you’re sorry
Now that you feel the wrath
Based on my pain from the past.
Don’t hide your gladness.
Don’t feign your sadness
Now that you can’t believe
My vocal tyranny.

Years ago, you gave me no choice
But to forever make poetry my voice.

You scowl at me,
For you are no longer free
Of looks of open contempt
And sneers of obvious resent.
You yell at me,
For you cannot believe
That after all of these years
That I dare to reappear.

Years ago, you gave me no choice
But to forever make poetry my voice.

Don’t try to make
Like it was all a mistake.
You meant all those hurtful words–
Those adjectives, nouns and verbs.

Don’t say I now belong
As I sing my freedom song.
God don’t like ugly; yes, it’s true.
What you do to others may be done to you.

And now, it seems you have no choice
But to listen and hear my poetic voice.

©
2001
Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

