Standing On The Sidelines: The Undelivered Letter

I stand on the sidelines
watching you go through aches and pains.
Am I really being a good friend
or am I just as much to blame?
A lot of people talk about
how we would make a good pair,
but that can’t even be possible
if only one person knows it’s there.

Each day, it gets harder and harder–
my having to pretend
that I just love you as a brother,
that I just love you as a friend
because each time you talk about
your new flame in a skirt,
I have to smile and cheer you on,
pretending it doesn’t hurt.

And each time some chicken head
rips your heart apart,
I’m saddened, knowing you’re slowly
building a wall around your heart,
and I know it’d be a task
for me to ever get through
if I did gather enough courage
and asked to be with you.

But until you feel the same for me
or your heart softens over time,
I’ll just take my original place:
Standing on the sidelines.

©
2001
Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

