My Reemergence: Reflections of Soul–Coming Soon

Book cover by Kali Monroe of Fancy Face Kreations

She also does business/logo/card templates, personal and business Facebook covers, personal photo touch ups.  I highly recommend her, and yes, feel free to say I sent you!

Hello, all:

This will  probably be the first time I have written an official blog that wasn’t simply my work.  At first, I was going to use this to showcase my works only.  However, from time to time, it may be necessary to actually do a personal blog or one for promotional purposes only.

This is one of those times.

It has been about seven years since I’ve actively published.  Private Pain, although I think the work was needed and necessary, proved to be a lot more exhausting on an emotional scale than originally anticipated.  I felt extremely exposed, and I wasn’t sure if I would be that comfortable in sharing in that way again.  I did that work, and there were so many things going on in the background.  It was a miracle that work even made it into print.

I never stopped writing, although there were moments when the writer’s blocks were expansive.  Writing had gotten to the point where it no longer healed me but amplified the pain.  I didn’t even want to blog as much.

Once my long term relationship ended, I was running on below E, yet I didn’t know how long it would take for me to even get back to where I was, much less at E.  I had lost so much of who I was, and then I wondered if I ever defined who I was to begin with.

Before the relationship became an unstable roller coaster, there was a great deal of inspiration.  This drove me to compose a collection inspired by the writings of this other person.  These pieces were written in the span of about three months back in the year 2003.  After the disillusion of the bond in 2008, I debated as to whether to destroy these pieces, since I could not look at them in the beginning without all of the negative things flowing back in.

Each time I started to, a voice would say, “Queen, don’t do it.”

Then, I would set it aside.

One day, earlier this year, while doing a bit of Spring Cleaning, I discovered the collection again.  This time around, I didn’t feel the anger or the twinge of pain.  I just felt an appreciation for the work and was glad for the inspiration behind it.  I realized I still had things I wanted to say.  I also realized the only way I could really put things behind me was to go ahead and publish the work.

The name of the work is Reflections of Soul.  I just described the synopsis as to what it is about.  It is one of my shorter collections–total page count is about 56.  I decided to let Create Space get first crack on distribution of this work.  I have Angela Lykebudda White and Andrew Boyd to thank for letting me know about this spot.

Confession:  I still have a bit of a soft spot for Lulu because you have the option to have books hardcover, and I’m a die hard lover for hardcover, so Reflections of Soul may also have distribution via Lulu as well, just so I can give people an opportunity to have a hard cover copy of the work.

I’m waiting on Create Space to get back to me.  All of the materials have been submitted.  As soon as Reflections is available for purchase, all of you will be the first to know.

I would like to give so much thanks to Kali Monroe of Fancy Face Kreations.  No, she and I have never met face to face (this has to get rectified soon), but I feel a definite closeness to her.  She has such a vibrant, honest energy about her, and she is creative gold with everything she touches.  I am blessed to have her in my corner.

I am blessed to have so many others in my corner as well.  I’m learning my way, but overall, it does feel good to be back.

Peace and thank you in advance for the support and love.

ª

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with:
Posted in coming soon
2 comments on “My Reemergence: Reflections of Soul–Coming Soon
  1. ABoyd378 says:

    *BIG HUGS*

    So very proud of you!!

    Like

  2. Thee_Kween says:

    🙂 Good for you!

    Like

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

