Possibility

How do I love thee?
Let me count the ways.
When you and I were nine,
I wanted to ride on your bike,
But you refused.
I gave you a slap,
And we started to tussle,
Which transformed into
A full-fledged fight.
Although I vowed
To hate you until the end of time,
Sometimes love and hate
Can walk along similar lines.
How do I love thee?
Let me count the ways.
When we both started to mature,
When kissing became less “eww”
And more “ooh”
I was still rocking boys jeans
And baseball caps.
Your attention was on a Barbie-like dame
With voluptuous breasts
And a matching ass.
When I’d see you hold her hand
Or kiss her during study hall,
I’d run off and do some homework,
Pretending not to care at all.
How do I love thee?
Let me count the ways.
At high school prom,
I went with friends;
You went with your girl,
Who on the same night,
You caught with your best friend.
I followed you as you stormed outside.
We shared booze to drown our sorrows away.
We talked and laughed,
Scowled and cursed!
I don’t remember 
Whose lips touched 
Whose first.
As we became engulfed
In our own passions,
We discovered 
The texture and flavors
Of our own compositions,
And as the thickness of you
Filled the tightness of me,
I thought it was love!
Years later,
As our eyes meet
Across the table:
Platinum band on your finger,
Colors of the rainbow
Adorning my wrists,
We both are silently wondering
What could have been.
~Queen of Spades
Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

