Happy New Year, Everyone (Some Changes)

Greetings!

I know it has been a while since I have visited here.  It hasn’t been because of any unfortunate events but because I’ve been flooded with a lot of good news and activity.  Here is what I’ve been up to as of late to get everyone up to speed.

December

Spaded Truths: Themes and Proclamations was released on schedule.  I didn’t make the mistakes that I made with Reflections of Soul with the whole formatting.  I’m really pleased with the revamp, and I am extremely proud of it.  I also retired the original Spaded Truths, even though there may be other places that are featuring it.  However, I have notified them that it is out of print.  If you see the old, it’s gone; just please go with the new.

Since arriving at Koobug, I have had such a wonderful experience.  It’s like what I had with my other writing communities (before things went downhill).  There is interaction, and it really has a close knit feel.  Could I have found a place after all these years that has minimum to no drama?  I’ve spending quite a bit of time over there.  I’m taking it step by step.

I know the general rule is to wait anywhere from three to six months between books, yet there was a hunger in me to get Private Pain: Amidst These Ashes out for February.  I kept thinking about March, but February kept singing to me.  I know February is usually about love (Valentine’s Day) or celebration (Mardi Gras), and Private Pain is about love (returning to love of Self); one just had to go through hell to get there.

Side Note: My car has finally been paid off!  Woot!  Woot!  I just figured I would throw that in there.



January

I never realized how much I missed newsletter and newspaper writing until I began writing for All Authors Magazine.  I wrote for my high school newspaper, and then when I worked for this non-profit organization, they had me do work on their newsletter and update their website from time to time.  There’s something very satisfying about being behind the scenes as well.

While doing all that, I did manage to get Private Pain: Amidst These Ashes all set up.  I’m in the process of ordering my proof from CreateSpace.  Yes, I can just do the digital proof for free, but I like actually holding and seeing.  CreateSpace offers a matte finish now, which I think will do this work a bit more justice than the glossy, but I can determine better once I have a copy.  It was available when Spaded Truths: Themes and Proclamations came out, so I got one of each.  Most preferred the glossy cover so it’s the one I stuck with.

I also joined this event going on all through January, entitled Writers, Artists Like for Like event on Facebook.  I really applaud what the moderator was trying to do, but you are always going to get people who don’t follow the rules or don’t read.  Despite the hiccups, I have gotten a lot more likes on my Authoress Queen of Spades Facebook page, and All Authors Magazine, which I also shared with the group, got a big pop as well.  It is great to now have a Facebook page that is close over 400 likes when it was at below 80 originally.  I’ve also been able to connect with some new people.  I can’t say whether all 300 extra likes will keep in touch, but if a fraction of us stay connected, it will be good.

I also decided to set up Book Pages because it allows a bit more freedom for me to tell the back story of my books and share more, in regards to excerpts, reviews, and the like.  For me the Book Pages are like blogs for my books, and since I frequent Facebook a bit more than my blog these days, it’ll get me more disciplined to talk about them on there rather than on here.

Reflections of Soul Facebook Page

Eclectic Facebook Page

Spaded Truths: Themes and Proclamations Facebook Page

Private Pain: Amidst These Ashes Facebook Page

Upcoming Changes

I am making moves so that A Queen’s Ramblings is more interactive.  I will be taking more requests to host people if they want to do a Blog Tour or what not, but I am going to be somewhat selective simply because I know that I am already doing quite a bit with the magazine, the reviews, and my own writings, so I have to keep all those factors in mind.

The site design is coming.  I finally decided which banner I’m going to start with.  I just need to find the template with the right feel of what I am going for.

I am also in the process of doing some downsizing.  The Fame and The Shame will be closing on Facebook and WordPress.  It will merge with The Review Board, since it is reviews, just on products and services.

No Labels Unleashed on WordPress may be subjected to the same fate.

Perhaps it’s because I like Blogger so much, or I’m not able to connect as freely.  I just feel a bit more detached, that’s all.  I’m going to give it another month to see if I feel the same way; if I do, I have to do what I have to do, and apologies in advance to those who are sticklers for WordPress.  If they really want to keep up with me, then they know where to find me: Blogger, my origins.

Peace.

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Posted in Uncategorized

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

