Crowder Peas & Creativity

The supremely delicious crowder peas

Greetings everyone!

When I was growing up, one of my favorite peas to eat was crowder peas.  The texture and the taste hit the tummy in a way no other peas could–even black-eye peas.  Yet, crowder peas are only grown in certain parts of the States and where I’m currently living isn’t one of those place.

One night while asleep, a strange scent hit my nose.  I hadn’t been around it in years but it was unmistakable.  It was the smell of crowder peas being cooked.  I went downstairs and opened my door.  There was no scent outside the door–none of the other neighbors were cooking.  My stove wasn’t on yet my senses were filled to the brim with the aroma.

I couldn’t get back to sleep so I sat in front of the computer.  A few minutes later, I started to write.  Once I finished the story, the mysterious scent became less and less until it finally vanished.

Those are the origins of how the short story “Mr. Bradley’s Garden” was created.  It made its first appearance in Summer Shorts II: Best Kept Secrets.  This story is very near and dear to my heart, so I have decided to release it independently.

Mr. Bradley’s Garden…coming very soon.

 

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with:
Posted in real ramblings

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

