Are U Scared of The Truth? Not This Chic Right Here!

Greetings! Queen here! As part of National Poetry Month, I have invited people who have read my work (particularly my poetry) to stop by and share their thoughts. I am shocked (yet pleased) to introduce this next person. Here’s Da’Kharta Rising.

7f531-dr-card-cd

Your Highness. Let me sit down my sickle. I didn’t mean to frighten you, but I was always taught to be prepared.

Just because a work is popular doesn’t mean it’s good. I’ve seen Best Sellers more suited than a Bathroom Break than what you’d savor at Breakfast Time. It is those works that people don’t touch because the content may be a bit too hot.

d6f6b-spaded_truths_front

Spaded Truths: Themes and Proclamations is not Spaghetti-O’s. It’s homemade noodles surrounded with spicy broth. Everyone’s palate cannot deal with a lot of spice. Heck, some people aren’t used to homemade because they are used to the microwave.

**Since Spaded Truths: Themes and Proclamations is a bit long, through the rest of my post, I’ll be referring to it mostly as ST:TAP.**

ST:TAP is more social and political than personal. It’s designed to get people talking. Some may agree with the statements prior to the presentation of the poetry, while others may entirely disagree. However, the content is presented in a way where one can give some strong arguments. What can I say? I dig a good debate and the best debates generate heat.

ST:TAP does touch on some of the following: abstinence, body image, race inequality, same sex inequality, censorship, sexual freedom, government.

There are a few more I may have missed but even with that listing, I can hear people screaming at Queen, “You’re going to Hell!”

That’s my type of read! It’s not because I tend to be anti-social. More so, I think the world has become desensitized to injustice. Rather than really talk about it, they turn a blind eye, do the whole political spiel of “looking into it”, or try to pretend it doesn’t happen. Or, in the other extreme, they are outraged—“This type of thing doesn’t happen HERE!” No corner of the world is safe from stupidity, chaos, and drama. As long as people roam the earth, that is the reality. ST: TAP is that reality—the one people know exists but they just don’t want to tap into.

Anyone can write about the simple. It takes a special type of ire to write outside self and tap into the energy of the times, have a stance on issues, and not back down due to it possibly being unpopular. This work has guts; it is an undiscovered glory to the masses.

I’m not scared of the Truth … Spaded Truths! You shouldn’t be either. You never know—delving into the Spaded Ones may reveal some truths of your own.

This is DR, signing off!

Rory_Divider

Da’Kharta Rising! Always to the point. Thanks for stopping by A Queen’s Ramblings.

531af-thumbnaillogo2

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in national poetry month, spaded truths

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

