From Pain Comes Testimony (featuring Y. Correa)

Greetings everyone! Queen here. In honor of National Poetry Month, I extended an invitation to people who have read any of my poetry to stop by. Today, another person has stopped by to share her thoughts.

Ladies and Gentleman, I present to you Multi-Genre Author, Y. Correa.

ba6e8-swirl-divider-hi

ba6e8-swirl-divider-hi

Hello Viewers,

Today I’d like to share my testimony about one of Author Queen of Spades works. Namely, “Private Pain: Amidst These Ashes”.

b7a4d-private_pain_front

I would like to dare to venture into the depths of this magnificent collection of poetry.

I was blessed and lucky enough to be among one of the first people to read this collection. Allow me to tell you that this work touched my heart and soul in a way that not many poetry collections have in my life.

It seems to me that there are poetry books that one reads and moves on from, then there are those that stick with you for the remainder of your days. Each person in this world is independent from the other, so various subject matter can affect different people in different ways.

Personally, Queen of Spades works are all marvelous in their own right, in my humble opinion. However “Private Pain: Amidst These Ashes” is a work that stuck to the depths of my consciousness in such an intense way that even to this day I still find myself at times thinking about some of the pieces in this work.

There was so much pain and struggle that the Author had to overcome which were shared in this work—many of those very things were hurdles that I too had to overcome. I suppose it was the kinship of the experienced misfortune. Perhaps the ability to see past the words and feel the ordeals. Possibly, it was the power behind the words, and please take my word for it, Queen’s words are powerful.

Time and time again I found myself choked up as I saw the calamity of each situation and the profundity of each stanza.

When one thinks of writers that were born to be poets, certain names surface:

  • Emily Dickinson

  • Edgar Allen Poe

  • Maya Angelou

  • And, now Ms. Queen of Spades

I am now and will forever be her number one fan.

Not many Authors dare to bare their souls in the manner that only Queen can do, and for that she will forever have my respect and appreciation. While “Private Pain” Amidst The Ashes” is not a work for the feeble of heart, for those who dare to journey into its pages the trip will be well worth while.

ba6e8-swirl-divider-hi

Thank you so much for your eloquent testimony, Y. Correa, and thanks everyone for reading.

531af-thumbnaillogo2

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in national poetry month

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

