Royal Reviews: On Romeo, Juliet, Petie & Me

SSM.Banner

Greetings! Queen here. In honor of National Short Story month, I am featuring reviews of short stories that I have reviewed. Today, I will be sharing my thoughts on Romeo, Juliet, Petie & Me by Melinda Matthews.

81hWCKvcSnL._SL1500_

Something is magical about a bond between a human and her pet.

This short story is about the bond between a little girl and her collie, Petie, who saved her from danger on two occasions. I really loved the visuals in the story, especially when the author spoke about the farm. I could actually smell the freshness of the hay and identify with the frozen fear the girl felt when she was face to face with the bull.

Parts of this story reminded me of home, since I’m originally from a small town in southern Mississippi as well, so her depiction of the life during that time was very realistic, and I was able to identify certain quirks of Southern life.

Royal Verdict: Author, Stand and Take a Bow!
(equivalent to 5 Stars)

This work is a beautifully ode to animal lovers. Even if you don’t own a pet, this story is definitely one that warms the heart.

531af-thumbnaillogo2

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in national short story month

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

