Addressing misconceptions

Greetings everyone! Queen here, taking a bit of a break to answer a question that was given to me as it pertains to my trade.

What is one of the biggest misconceptions people have about you as an author?

*chucking to myself*

Wait, I have to pick just one?

fortherecord

The one misconception that stands out the most (which I’ve experienced) has to do with my transition from poetry into short story writing.  The primary misconception that I will speak on is the assumption that since I’ve written a fair amount of short stories that I will stop writing poetry.

There’s not a chance of that happening.

I know many people are like, “Never say never.” Yet this is something that I can say with certainty.

Poetry is a melody that plays even when there is no sound. At times, when I talk or when I just write, it just seems to flow out … as if it cannot help itself. Stanzas feel as tangible to me as the hair on my head or the stirring of my heartbeat as my fingers fly to get the words out.

This will remain true even when I go into the galaxy of novel writing. Poetry is Earth. Poetry is home, and the essence of home is where I’ll always return.

531af-thumbnaillogo2

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in real ramblings

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

