An Out of This World Guest Post

Earth882BlogTour

 

Greetings everyone! Queen here. Today, I am letting fellow Author Y Correa have the floor—to build awareness about the Earth8-8-2 saga, particularly her upcoming 2nd book in the collection “Genesis’ Rebellion”. Here is the question I posed to her:

Initially, you were not enthralled with the concept of Earth 8-8-2 at all. How and why did you grow to not only like the story, but make it into a saga?

ba6e8-swirl-divider-hi

AuthorPicYCorreaHello Queen,

This is a very good question. Mostly, because I’ve never talked about this to the general public.

As writers, sometimes, we tend to be more critical of our own works than the actual readers.

When I first thought of the concept—in and around the time when Concordant Vibrancy Book 1 was to be released–I thought the premise would go well with the theme of Unity.

Immediately, I dove into writing the story with the overall thought that this would be a great short story idea. I shared the thought and premise of the story with you on one occasion and you said, “I honestly think that this story is too rich in plot to be a short story. This sounds like it can be something greater.

My reply was, “Hmm … maybe, but maybe not. I’m not sure yet. Either way I’ll keep working on it and see what happens.

Low and behold, you were right. Consequently, this caused me to write an entirely different story for Concordant Vibrancy, and work harder on this one.

As I was writing I got to that point that us writers know all too well, when I thought to myself, “Y, what are you thinking? This story is crap! Nobody is going to want to read this! It’s ludicrous.” And, inevitably I grew to dislike the story and considered throwing out the idea altogether.

YOU changed my mind. You said, “You aren’t giving yourself enough credit for this story. I really like it, and I don’t think you should throw it out.

earth882cover

I listened to your advice, although still feeling some kind of way about it. I can’t say for sure why I grew to dislike the story so much at that time; I think that it had to do with me being too hard on myself, as I tend to do sometimes.

Grudgingly, I pressed forward with the first installment, and in time it was done and published. It wasn’t until AFTER the book was published that I decided to give it a read. Not as the author, but as a reader. And, wouldn’t you know it, I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE PREMISE all over again!

After looking at the story through the eyes of a reader, I eventually saw what others did, and realized that I was being too hard on myself.

IMG_0373

The way the story grew in to a saga was when I wrote the last portion of Book 1. The very last paragraph. It was then that I realized that this story was much, much longer than I’d anticipated. However, to write it all in one big book would not only make it too hefty of a read, but also be exhausting. Plus, I liked the idea of presenting each installment in that manner that some serial television shows are presented—with a bit of a cliffhanger, but unavoidably leading that installment into the next.

Queen, I want to thank you twofold; One, for supporting this project and not letting me do away with it. And, two, for allowing me to share this experience on your blog.

Thanks and all the best!

🙂

531af-thumbnaillogo2

Poet, short story writer, and aspiring novelist. This blog details my writing journey and everything in between: supporting other writers, doing a feature column and serving as editor-in-chief for All Authors Magazine Online.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in books, coming soon, guest post
One comment on “An Out of This World Guest Post
  1. […] An Out of this World Guest Post […]

    Like

Royal Thoughts?

Archives
The Review Board

#ReviewerSwag

